Types of Early Learning Providers (continued)

Family Child Core Homes

Family child care takes place in a person’s home for children in unrelated families. Group size may vary according to the preferences of the family child care provider. Ages of children may often be mixed, although some providers serve only a specific age group (such as infants, toddlers or preschoolers). Different requiren1ents apply to different programs, with some family child care ho,nes being licensed and some registered.

Registered Family Child Care Homes

These providers are required to meet minimal state requirements, such as

  • Register annually with DCF.
  • Complete and provide to parents/guardians an annual health and safety home inspection checklist.
  • Provide proof of substitute care.
  • Provide proof of background checks for all adults in the household. Complete additional hours of training annually.
  • Complete specific training in early literacy and language development.

Licensed Family Child Care Homes

Licensed family child care home providers must meet all requirements listed above for registered family child care homes and must meet the following licensing requirements regulated by DCF:

  • Follow health, safety and nutrition guidelines.
  • Maintain enrollment and attendance records.
  • Comply with licensing standards of local and state governments.
  • Maintain current infant and child CPR and First Aid certifications.
  • Pass an inspection prior to receiving a child care operating license.
  • Comply with two routine and one renewal licensing inspections annually.

Comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act and make reasonable accommodations for children with special needs.

Note: Some counties may hove more restrictive requirements than those mandated by the state.

Adult-to-Child Ratios for Family Child Care Homes

Family child care homes are regulated by DCF. A family child care provider may care for one of the following groups of children, including the provider’s 01,11n children younger than age 13 years of age:

  • (1:4) Birth to 12 months of age.
  • (1:6) No more than three are under 12 months.
  • (1:10) As long as at least five children are school-age and no more than tv,o are under 12 months of age.
  • (2:8) If more than four children under 24 months old.
  • (2:12) If no more than four children are under 24 months old.

Gold Seal and Accreditation

The Gold Seal Quality Care program acknowledges child care facilities and family, day care homes that are accredited by nationally recognized agencies anc whose standards reflect quality in the level of care and supervision provided to children. To access the list of current DCF-approved agencies participating in the Gold Seal Quality Care Program, visit http://v1wv1.myflfamilies.com/service­programs/child-care/goldseal.

Read the first part of this article »

Leave a Reply